Good Bones

My family and I spent the past weekend in Portland, OR. I admit, it is a city that I love to be in! The energy, the arts, the focus on the environment; so appealing! Part of our time there, my dear hubby accompanied me to the Plucky Maiden’s Junk Fest – willingly! Of course, my camera/phone died before I got a single picture of the event, so you’ll have to take my word for it when I tell you how much I enjoyed the displays at many of the booths. From cowboy boots to vintage linens to jewelry made from bits and pieces of the past. It had me wondering what “vintage” pieces will be from my generation in the years to come.

My grandparents had two sofas through their adult married lives – TWO! One was an extra-long, and covered in drab, olive green corduroy. It was the perfect napping sofa, even for my six-foot plus husband. The lines were clean, the cushions full, the pillows… well, the pillows could have been better. Somehow, we left that sofa behind a few houses back and though we’ve cycled through a few sofas since then, I still hanker back for the ease of a nap on those cushions. If we still had it, I’d reupholster it all, but keep the bones. The bones were good. It is hard to find bones like that these days, especially that will keep up well. Perhaps that’s one of the things that appeals to me about vintage finds; things were better made.

Thrift stores, consignment shops, even Craigslist and Freecycle – all great resources for searching out that piece that has the bones you need for your own house. The bonus of these is that you can find pieces that were well made and that with a few tweaks can become a completely new piece AND one that is completely your own. Reupholstering can actually cost less than buying a whole new piece, especially if you invest in quality materials. If that isn’t within the budget, it is amazing how many YouTube instruction videos and blog posts are written with tutorials to do it all. A few tools, some practice, and a piece with good bones and you’re good to go.

I like to think things are on their way to being better made again. Things are on their way to being better overall.

Leave a Reply

